Our Team Will Stand Up for You Secure Elite Representation Reach Out to Us Today

SSDI Eligible Condition Attorneys in Townsend, Maryland

Life can be unpredictable. One day, you're healthy and able; the next, a sudden illness or injury can change everything. For many, Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) is a lifeline that covers expenses when they can no longer work due to a disability. But how do you qualify for SSDI and what does the application process look like? At Gordon, Wolf & Carney, we're here to break it down for you. 

What Is SSDI? 

SSDI is a federal program that provides financial assistance to individuals unable to work due to a serious medical condition. It is essentially a safety net to support those who have paid into the Social Security system through their employment over the years. SSDI benefits can help cover medical expenses, living costs, and other basic needs for those who have become disabled. 

Children can also qualify for SSDI under the Supplemental Security Income (SSI) program. The criteria for children are somewhat different and focus on their ability to perform activities typical for their age group. 

SSDI differs from SSI, with SSI being need-based for disabled individuals with limited income, while SSDI eligibility relies on work history and Social Security contributions. SSDI benefits can also extend to dependents under certain conditions.  

SSDI, however, isn’t just about financial support. It can also provide access to Medicare and Medicaid, so you can get the medical care you need. This program is vital for many families, providing peace of mind and stability during challenging times. 

Need Help with SSDI Claim?

Call Now

How to Qualify for SSDI 

To qualify for SSDI, you must meet specific criteria set by the Social Security Administration (SSA). These include having a medical condition that significantly limits your ability to perform basic work activities and is expected to last at least one year or result in death. 

Conditions That Qualify for SSDI 

The SSA has a comprehensive list of conditions that qualify for SSDI. These are categorized by body systems, making it easier to find where your condition might fall. Let's explore some of the primary categories: 

Musculoskeletal System Disorders 

Conditions affecting bones, muscles, and joints are common reasons people seek SSDI. This category includes: 

  • Arthritis 

  • Herniated discs 

  • Severe fractures 

  • Cardiovascular System Disorders 

Cardiovascular System Disorders 

Heart and blood vessel conditions can be life-threatening and debilitating. Some qualifying conditions include: 

  • Chronic heart failure 

  • Coronary artery disease 

  • Hypertensive heart disease 

Respiratory System Disorders 

Disorders affecting the respiratory system can be particularly severe. Examples include: 

  • Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) 

  • Asthma 

  • Pulmonary fibrosis 

Neurological Disorders 

Neurological issues can have widespread effects. Qualified conditions include: 

  • Epilepsy 

  • Multiple sclerosis (MS) 

  • Parkinson’s disease 

Mental Disorders 

The SSA recognizes the impact of mental disorders, such as: 

  • Depression 

  • Bipolar disorder 

  • Schizophrenia 

Immune System Disorders 

A malfunctioning immune system can lead to serious health issues. Qualifying conditions include: 


  • Lupus 

  • Rheumatoid arthritis 

How to Apply for SSDI 

Here are the basic steps: 

  • Gather documentation: This includes medical records, proof of income, and work history. 

  • Complete and submit the application: You can apply online or at your local SSA office with all required documents. 

  • Attend a medical examination: You may be required to undergo a consultative examination with a doctor to verify the severity of your condition.  

  • Wait for a decision: The SSA will review all the information provided, ask for additional information, or call you for follow-up appointments. This process can take several months.  

  • Receive a Notice of Decision: If approved, it will outline your benefit amount and when to expect your first payment. 

  • Appeal if necessary: If your application is denied, you have the right to appeal the decision. Understanding the reasons for the denial and presenting new evidence can be critical for a successful appeal. There are four levels of appeal: reconsideration, an administrative law judge hearing, a review by the Appeals Council, and a Federal Court review. 

SSDI Denial 

Unfortunately, many SSDI applications are denied. Common reasons include insufficient medical evidence, lack of work credits, or the SSA's determination that your condition isn't severe enough. 

Don’t be discouraged if your application is denied. You have the right to appeal. This appeal process involves: 

  • Requesting reconsideration 

  • Attending a hearing 

  • Presenting additional evidence 

The SSA will provide a detailed explanation for the denial in their notice. Review this carefully with your attorney to identify areas where your application may have fallen short. For instance, they may have determined that your condition does not meet their severity criteria or that your documented daily activities conflict with your claimed limitations. These issues must be explicitly addressed in your appeal. 

SSDI Eligible Condition Attorneys in Townsend, Maryland, & Nationwide

At Gordon, Wolf & Carney, we are passionate about helping you secure the benefits you deserve. With over 100 years of combined legal experience, our team possesses deep knowledge of the law, enabling us to assist clients nationwide. Whether you are dealing with a complex tort, contract, or disability issue, our award-winning attorneys are here to take on your case with dedication. Call today for more information.